Merton Parish Council

The next meeting of the Merton Parish Council will be held in The Clinton Hall on Monday November 12th 2018, starting at 7:30 p.m..

The agenda for this meeting (when available), and all previous meetings, as well as the minutes from the meetings, can be viewed by following the links below.

Parish Council meetings are held every other month, on the second Monday of the month.

The members of the Merton Parish Council are:

Councillor Steve Papworth (Chairman)
Councillor Tim Horner (Vice-Chairman)
Councillor Bill Brown
Councillor Philip Collins
Councillor Jill Malcolm
Councillor Rob Nancekivell
Councillor Paul Scantlebury

All correspondence to the Council should be addressed to the Clerk, Miss Zena Tett of Bouchland Farm, Burrington, Umberleigh, Devon EX37 9NF. Tel 07711 255525, or by e-mail to

Please note that for security and backup purposes, the Chairman has the ability to access this e-mail account.

Transparency Code For Smaller Authorities

Since the abolition of the Audit Commission, the Government has introduced a Transparency Code for Smaller Authorities, which covers local government organistions such as our Parish Council. The Code requires us to publish significantly more information on our web site, and to make it available in perpetuity. So our web pages have been revised to enable access to documents back as far as 2014 - many of which have previously been published on this web site and on the Parish Council notice boards.

Agendas, Minutes & Other Documents

The agendas, draft and approved minutes of all Parish Council meetings are now being made available on this web site, along with other important documents. Follow the links below to view the documents.







General Data Protection Regulations

The Parish Council has prepared a Privacy Policy to meet the requirements of GDPR. You can read it by clicking here.

(Click here if you need Adobe Reader)